Should I go all the way to Ph.D?

T

Hey everyone, I'm looking for advice.

I'm currently an Electrical Engineering undergrad student at a Texas A&M university. Right now I'm only part-time student, full time worker, but that's about to change. My fiance said she would pick up the bills for awhile so I could finish my degree... My UNDERGRAD degree... I eventually want to get my doctorate (in either engineering or physics), but I don't want her to have to support me for the length of time it takes to finish a doctorate (isn't it like 7 years??). I've read stuff online about stipends and fellowships/internships/assistantships that help, but how much do they help? I mean, I don't want to stick her with all the bills while I take a trip through academia. I really want a doctorate, and I'm good at this stuff! I feel like I would be a waste if I didn't pursue it as far as possible, but if I've got to go 7 years without income, I don't think I can do it... Stories and advice if you have it! Thank You!

Hi TcAllen 247,
I've just started an a PhD in engineering in Europe and I have funding for 3 years of about 1200 euro per month. I hope to be finished in 3-4 years. If you intend to do the doctorate part-time than I'm sure you could be looking at 7 years but most full-time students complete in 3-5 years, as far as I know. Good luck with the decision. EV

E

Hey,

I self-funded my part-time MA by working full-time and am now just putting a proposal together and funding app for my PhD. I think if it's something you know you're good at, and something you are passionate about then go for it - there are several funding options out there (I'm afraid your subject is not my subject so I can't give you any specific advice!)... but I totally empathise with the 'what a waste if I don't do this' thought :) Good luck

E

ps, have you spoken to your current tutors about this? They should be more than willing to talk it through with you...

D