Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Envious of others who elected out of academics early

D

Hi everyone,
let me start by saying I'm driven, motivated and geared towards success and I've been brought up in that sort of environment. I am in the commerce line and my aspirations are to be in investment banking or private equity asap. I'm 25 at the time of writing this.
I just started my I'm doing my masters degree combined with sitting for my CFA level II on the back of finishing my bachelors and CFA level I. ( possibly PhD one day? )

Because of this workload I'm always studying. Way more than my peers since the final year of uni.
My parents have always maintained that a good education was imperative to my success in the professional world.

The main gripe I have :
While I'm studying so very hard . Most of my peers and even those a year younger have already began their professional lives. I find myself unwillingly being envious and depressed about my close friends, albeit being happy for them, getting 'big jobs' like at the investment arm of the govt etc and everyone seems proud of them. while i don't get any recognition because I did not apply for any jobs and am still a "student." And others who did not do very well in university also getting respectable jobs. If the job market is so simple why am I putting myself through so much schooling? on this evidence a simple bachelors second class honors is fine for securing a job, yet I'm here doing a further year of study (not getting paid, not getting recognized, feeling left behind) and piling extra hours on top of that for that added CFA qualification( still level III to go after this ). It's hard to stay focused.

My parents have always said that a good education central to your acceptance and progression in any job. Maybe times have changed? I don't know . I would think now more than ever more qualifications are necessary?

thank you for letting me express my frustrations. Any advice or words of wisdom are appreciated.