Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Do you feel sad to leave the country/city/place where you did you Master/ PhD?

H

Hi!

I'll leave the country where I did my Master and PhD soon, after being here for about 5.5 years. I feel quite sad as it's quite far from my home country so I can't get back as frequent as I want and stay as long as I want after this. I'm feeling quite nervous to return to my country. I will have to adapt with a new surrounding again, many things have changed over the past 5 years.

I'm trying as much as I can to enjoy 'the last time of many things' e.g. 'the last time of eating/ drinking all the food/drinks that I like here', 'the last time of going to .....', 'the last time of seeing ....', 'the last time of traveling by ....', 'the last time of meeting some friends' right now. Of course there are few things that I don't like here (every country has its positive and negative aspects), I don' want to be a student here anymore, I'm happy to return to my country and I love my own country, but I'll definitely miss

1. the food especially t_ _ _ _ _ _ _
2. the people- their dynamic, their smiling faces, their politeness - although sometimes they are just pretending to be polite
3. the beautiful sceneries
4. the clean toilets
5. the clean cities
6. the trains :D
7. the transportation system
8. just walking in the city
9. exploring the new places in the country
10. the sense of achievement everytime I have successfully arrived to the destination while traveling alone (because I can't speak or read the local language)
11. all you can eat/ all you can drink service
12. feeling safer that my own country
13. the stability/ stable feeling
14. the harmonious feeling
15. my counselors
16. my life in here
17. cycling to the lab- funny because I used to hate going to the lab

Anyone else feeling the same?

R

How long till you leave huhu? You are bound to have mixed feelings about leaving after 5 and a half years!
All the best for the future :)

S

Hi huhu,