Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

gaps in career/mental health - job apps.: about disclosing personal info.

N

Wondering if anyone has any views on this

I'm applying for a part-time academic job, and the application suggests providing info. to explain gaps in career.

Sorry for the life story, but I'm not sure what info. to include to explain my lack of jobs:

I've been studying part-time for many years - mostly as a single-parent, running from house to house trying to escape a psycho ex-husband (for the first few years of my 1st degree, I was still in a violent relationship, for much of the next, I was in a domestic violence refuge with my toddler child). This often made me ill - so I've had a few periods of sick leave with depression etc. I also had a period of time caring for an elderly parent, before they died.

I worked when I could, but this was in dribs and drabs when I could find teaching - and I generally found it too much pressure to work beyond my studies (which I did obsessively, despite my part-time status)

So, I've plenty of gaps. But I worked damn hard to keeps things going as far as my studies were concerned.

Is it best to give an outline of such personal info. to explain that I'm not a shirker, but am dedicated & have the quality of sticking at a job through thick & thin etc.? Or should I just keep quiet??

I don't want the 'boss' to just bin the application because it's all a bit embarrassing, but neither do I want them to think I'm lazy, and take the easy route!

And as for disclosing mental health...

I'm only going for a PT job, as I know I can cope with this - mostly (like many others with depression, some days are better than others, and there's a chance I may need time off in the future if it comes back badly).
But as surveys show (can't recall which - but in the BBC archives somewhere?!), whatever the equlity legislation, few people want to employ those with mental health issues