Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Another 'I Want to Quit' Thread...Sorry!

X

Hello everyone!

Firstly, please accept my apologies for posting a thread about wanting to quit. I noticed there have been quite a few in the last month or so, and I feel just awful for posting yet another one. I don't know why, but I do!

I'm posting this in the hopes that those of you who have quit/are in the process of quitting will PM me about your experiences. I'm so desperate to talk to other people about this. I feel so alone right now in my decision, and really need some support from those of you who have gone through this.

I've been doing my PhD for nearly two years now, and I simply can't go on any longer. I feel as though I've been fooling myself and everyone else who's been supporting me. I feel like a total failure for not being able to carry on, and for having held on for this long and not coming forward sooner about these feelings. I've been really unhappy for ages, but pushed on in the hopes that what I was experiencing would pass, but it hasn't. I can't believe how much time I have let pass. My motivation is non-existent, and hard as I try, I just cannot get any work done, and haven't been able to for ages. I know I've come to the end of the line with this, and it's time to cash my chips in and move on.

I would really like to hear from others about their experiences, so if you're going through this or have been through this, can you PM me? I would really appreciate it.

Congratulations to those of you who are doing well with the PhD! I wish I had your self-motivation and determination! I really do.

Thanks alot everyone!

H

Sorry to hear about your situation.

My experiences can be found on this thread: http://www.postgraduateforum.com/threadViewer.aspx?TID=11485
(bottom of page 1)

Maybe we should have a whole board for this topic. I'm starting to wonder if it's this time of year - it's nearly exactly a year since I went!

G