Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Bad attitudes towards qualitative research...

K

I was chatting to an old lecturer of mine last week, who is teaching stats to undergraduates. She was talking about having to teach them qualitative research techniques, and I said I thought that was great, because when I was an undergraduate all I did was quantitative stuff (i.e. loads and loads of stats), but had little teaching, if any, on qualitative methods such as grounded theory or interpretative phenomenological analysis. When I said this to her she looked at me as though I had three heads and went on to have a rant at me about how useless qualitative research is, pointless, pathetic, a waste of time and resources etc etc. I was gobsmacked! In our field (Clinical Psychology), although quantitative research is dominant and hugely important, I thought the importance of qualitative work was finally becoming more well recognised! My own project was originally all quant, but I have since added a smallish qual study as I have come to realise that there are some aspects of human experience that simply can't be captured using numbers and stats. Have you guys also come across attitudes like this? I expect this sort of attitude from people who don't really understand qualitative research methods and the rigorous nature of these types of analyses, but not from someone in my own field! I was shocked! KB

N