Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Bullies at the lab

T

Hey there! Just wondering if bullying is a common occurence among students and how those of you who experienced it dealt with it? I'm a first year PhD student at a small lab. I get along great with most people except the few students in my field of study which is a real bummer as it foils most attempts for creative discussions, asking for advice (which I really need at this time), sharing papers, etc. This small clique of people has excluded from the start from any project meetings or brainstorming sessions they've had between them, field trips, etc. They also ignore most of my emails and act like I'm just thin air... Is it competition, do I need to prove myself to them before they acknowledge/respect me or are they just pure $%&$*? I'm not sure who else to turn to for help with regards to some of the technical stuff I need to do... Any advice? How should I handle them and the situation? Your input would really be appreciated!!! :)

T

Perhaps I should add these people are into their 2nd to 4th year and one is a young and fairly new researcher at the institute.

B

This is really tricky to deal with. If the "bullies" were more overt (i.e. physically beating you or trashing your experiments) it would be easier to draw attention to. However, the subtle ostracising is still bullying but it is harder to do anything about it. Sometimes this is actively fostered by the institution, especially those that are quite snobbish/ use divide and rule tactics to maintain the status quo.

First ask "If they behave this way, do I really want to hang around this group?". Perhaps it may be even worse if they invite you into their little circle only to use you as their "whipping post".

B