Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

can I apply for an extension without any good reason?

P

Hi, I'm new, how I wish that I had known this forums years ago.

I'm in my 4th year now, but I haven't finished my thesis yet, just half way i think. Do we have to finish it in 4 years? cos I once received a confirmation letter from Mphil to PhD, saying the maxmium period is till Oct 2007. I don't think I could have and pass the viva before Oct. Can I apply for an extension without any good reason? I just find it really hard to write. English is not my first language, but I don't think the language really matters, though it does make writing more difficult for me.

And I keep feel ashamed that I won't be able to finish it soon, and dare not talk to my supervisor. I really don't know what to do, could anyone give me any advice please? Thanks a lot.

O

Hi, I think you should talk to your supervisor really, really soon! It might be hard but he should be aware of it anyway as he should exspect to have something to read by now. I am not sure whether there is a difference between the universities but mine states in its postgraduate handbook that you have to finish within four years otherwise it is a fail. Exceptions are only if you have been ill for a longer period of time or on parental leave etc. however, it says as well that you have to request the extention at this time as it cannot be considered at the end.

O