Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Commuting, is it wise?

C

Hi,

I have just accepted a studentship at St Andrews, however my girlfriend is coming with me and needs a job for a year before doing her PGCE. Jobs will be hard to come by in St Andrews as its small..

i was wondering how many people commute and over what distances they travel? There are obviously down sides but how bad are they?

I will be doing molecular work,and am unsure how much time i will spend in the lab?

Thanks

S

I'm originally from St Andrews and jobs are to be had depending on what your girlfriend wants...the University is a big employer. Dundee is also only 30min from StAndrews and is much bigger. As I'm studying in London, I can't live close to the lab so have a 40min commute each day although in London it's normal to commute. Commuting can give you a chance to catch up on reading etc but it can feel like wasted time. St Andrews is 1hr from Edinburgh so could you live halfway between there and St Andrews? You'd probably need a car then though as public transport is a bit rubbish.

C

Thanks, i was thinking about Dundee seems like the best option regarding jobs, but im just not sure what Dundee is like? i have heard mixed things.

H

I commute 23 miles by train to central London every day, a round trip of 46 miles taking approx 3 hours (Don't we all LOVE the rail network!) It is tough sometimes, standing in the p**sing rain while another train gets cancelled. But not impossible. Depends what you want: convenience or somewhere affordable to live in my case!

S

Will you be doing molecular biology or some such? If so you may have (very) long hours in the lab - and they may also be irregular depending on the systems (especially biological systems eg bacterial cultures or cell lines). You might want to think about that aspect of your project because those would be a nightmare with a long commute to factor in.

S