Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Confused over too many research questions!

L

I have been working on my PhD for 6 months now. The idea of my topic was proposed by my supervisor. It is an area that I am very interested in, sleep and depression, however as it is such a broad area I am really struggling to get my research questions down. Basically, I am doing a longitudinal study where I am measuring several types of sleep over several time-points, and also comparing 2 different groups.

As I am working with NHS patients I had to work quickly to get my application into ethics. However, now I have done that I find myself feeling overwhelmed with my research questions. I am not sure whether I should just focus on one main question / hypothesis, or whether I should be trying to focus on answering everything (which is obviously not possible!). I have had so much paperwork and NHS stuff to sort out in the past few months that my conversations with my supervisors tend to focus on practical elements, rather than my deep concerns over my research idea! I am struggling to get this across...

It would be interesting to hear if anyone else has experienced a similar situation, and any advice would be much appreciated! :-)

M

Hi! I've been in a similar position, uncertain of direction & feeling overwhelmed. I'm not sure there's one answer, & certainly not a quick one - in my case I only really got a handle on my research question 2 years in (I'm part-time)! Have you got any data yet?
I would certainly talk to your supervisor now that the practical hurdles have been overcome; talk about how you feel & about all the different strands of information you have & the best way to narrow these down.
I think this struggle is all part of the process!
Good luck, M

R