Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Confused whether to do an MSc or go straight for a PhD

L

I'm currently studying neuroscience and psychology (undergraduate), and i want to do neuroscience PhD (for definite). But the thing is, is it worth it for me to do an MSc in neuroscience as well? I'm not to sure what i want to work as when i finished, i have multiple options that i like, such as a lecturer, research or a neuropathology.

D

In my experience and from reading many posts on here it is the norm to do an MSc before a PhD. You can go straight from undergrad to PhD but it's not the norm and can be more difficult to get funding for a PhD. Also many seem to think this is a massive jump in terms of academic ability and an MSc bridges this.

K

Hey there! I've just completed my PhD in clinical psychology, but have friends across all different areas of psychology as well (and in different universities). Most psychology departments will expect a masters for entry onto a PhD- in our department, it is a formal requirement, even if you have a first class undergraduate degree. This is not true of all PhD subjects- straight sciences, for example, do not usually require a masters. But psychology PhDs are extremely competitive, so even if it wasn't a formal requirement, it's unlikely you would win funding for a PhD without one (unless you had a lot of previous experience). Of course, there may be exceptions to this rule, so if you have a specific university in mind, contact them and check! Also, a masters is a good way of getting a foot in the door at a particular department, and receiving support for an application for PhD funding, so if you can afford to do one financially then it's probably a good investment. Best, KB

L

Thank you, it has helped quite a bit in my decision, definitely going to do a MSc first. Thank you to both of you.

E