Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Demanding arrogant undergraduate students

S

Obviously I don't mean all undergrads are demanding and arrogant. Overall most of the students I have this year are great. However, some are pretty difficult to deal with. One of them talks in class as if he deserves a nobel prize and talks to me like I am some kind of idiot if I don't know the answer to every single one of his questions.

Another two seem to think all I am on the planet for is to be their tutor and therefore they can demand, demand, demand - have answers to their email in 20 seconds flat, email several times a day in detail as though they want me to just write the essay for them.

When I was an undergrad I had so much respect for my lecturers and tutors, and I was always encouraged to think independently instead of expecting all the answers to just be fed to me. I'm pretty sure most other students I was in class with were the same (although this may be an idealistic memory).

Anyway I just felt like a rant! Anyone else got any challenging students or is it just me?

N

Slomo - sounds tough!! I am older with 20 years commercial experience so it tends to be a bit different. I have seen younger teaching fellows just crack down on it. If I have talking in my class I just stop and address the students talking and say to them that we can't hear what their classmate is saying and stay quiet till they stop talking and this usually works. I know people who just ignore it as they don't want the hassle.

J

Welcome to my world - I teach in a post 92 uni and we have very demanding students. Talking and texting in class are common place, students never do any work before classes and many expect to learn everything they need from teh class. Very different from my experience 25 years ago as an undergrad:-(

S

I was teaching last term and some students were just talking and talking (throughout the lecture time).
I didnt know how to deal with them.
satchi