Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Doing PhD and MA simultaneously

F

Hi,
This is my first post.
I'm currently doing my PhD (linguistics), which I've been doing since 2009, and as of this year have begun a full time MA (Speech Pathology coursework) at another university. The idea behind taking on the Masters was to provide a practical pathway to employment in my chosen field. My doctoral work, like most PhDs is somewhat obscure, incredibly demanding, though I absolutely love it.

That said, I still have a way to go with my PhD, and my candidature runs to August this year (including extensions, which I've already used up). My PhD fieldwork is all done, and I'm well on the way to preparing my final draft, but there is soooo much still left to do... My PhD supervisor doesn't know I'm doing an MA simultaneously, and I've been avoiding meeting with him for the last two months while I try and get things on track in both courses.

Since starting my MA I haven't been able to work on my PhD hardly at all, have had massive difficulty with the MA, and even failed my first anatomy exam, which shocked me, as I've never failed anything before.

While I do feel that I have taken on too much, in the ideal world, I would like to achieve both my set goals. Nevertheless, I feel I'm losing grip on both, and am also having serious problems in my personal life which are draining me of energy. I'm trying to adapt to the workload I've set myself, but find myself racked with worry every morning and night. I've been persevering but feel now I'm spiralling downwards in all my works. On the other hand I want to be positive and tell myself that its a matter of time management.