Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Experience for PhD(science)

I

Alright everybody. I’m looking for some information regarding the pre-requisites for applying for a PhD.
I graduated last year with a 2.1 in Biology and am currently working as a lab tech in a dairy. I would have immediately gone for a Msc in Immunology last year had it not been for a distinct lack of available cash.
Anyway, my honours co-ordinator says that he will not reference me for a PhD until I have a couple of years experience as a research tech in a University. Is this normal or is he just being a twat?
Any information on experience needed would be great.
Cheers

S

yep he's being an idiot - he may have his reasons though?- but technically with a 2:1 you meet the minimum requirements for applying for a PhD. (you can also apply if you have a 2:2 with masters.

Although in an ideal world you would use this person you might consider finding other people to act as your references as long as they are credible - try other lecturers you get on with - you need two anyway as far as I remember.

Good luck

S

A

I agree - if he's not wholeheartedly behind you, I wouldn't risk using him as a referee. How about your BSc project supervisor? Any tutors you know well and have done some really good assignments for?

M

A reference doesnt have to be very good , it is not a letter of recommadation . It is just a piece of letter required by the rule and regulation of all universities , most of the time you dont need it until they make you an offer.
I think your co-ordinator is just being lazy !

A

That's not true - letters of reference are usually critical to the success or otherwise of an application.

G

I too would be surprised if anyone could obtain a PhD studentship with lacklustre references. It may be prudent to look for an alternative referee.

C