Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Fully-funded PhD students - How long for a PhD ?

L

Hello everyone,

Hope your PhD research is going well :p

In my university, those who are fully funded are for 3 years.
My question is : Have you been able to submit at the end of the 3rd year ?

In my department, there are 2 PhD students who were fully funded but they are in their 4th year at the moment. They are about to submit but they 'had' to take this 'continuation year' (for which they did not have to pay the fees but they don't get any fundings anymore).
I am in my 2nd year and really hope I will submit at the end of the 3rd year. However, PhD colleagues in their 3rd year (at the moment) have not finished writing yet and they also plan to submit in their 4th year. They told me that it is usually the way it is, and that it is almost impossible to submit at the end of the 3rd year. (humanities, languages).

What is your opinion/experience about this ?

I hope to have many advice and sorry if my message was not really clear.

:-)

L

======= Date Modified 22 Feb 2012 22:24:29 =======
Hi Lullaby,

This fairly recent thread has lots of responses on the shortest possible duration: http://www.postgraduateforum.com/threadViewer.aspx?TID=21629

Basically, I think the answer is ''it depends'' ; if you are focused predominantly on the thesis for three years and if your supervisor is quick about reading your work and giving feedback, then 3 years is definitely possible. But, things may happen that are beyond your control - personal circumstances, internal delays in the department, etc.

I'm in the same position as you and I'm determined to get it finished within the three years. (up)

W

Hi Lullaby,

I am with a Doctoral Training Centre (sciences) and we are expected to submit at the end of the 3 years or be very close to it (I think we have 3 months grace to organise viva etc).