Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

How to address special circumstance in application...

V

I did a diploma and master degree a couple of ys ago. Got quite good grades (over 70) on the 1st one but the second one was a different story. I got into a relationship with someone who suffered from clinical depression and whose episodes were exacerbated by particularly stressful situations (exams, for example). She was also a foreigner (just like me) and I was her closest person in the country. My academic performance suffered that 2nd yr (went to just over 60, with 2 courses with borderline marks). How should I address this situation in my statement of purpose? My undergraduate (and a second postgraduate) grades are pretty good, similar to those of the diploma.

G

Not entirely sure how you would go about doing that, in a positive way. I am aware that one of the criteria that my Sup looks for in a potential PhD stundent is the ability to achieve an effective work/personal life balance. Maybe you are best not mentioning it fullstop.

P

Hi
I suffered from ill health for the last two years of my MSc and one of my modules was particularly affected and I got a lower mark. I chose not to say anything on my PhD application for the reason that golfpro said. I was a bit disappointed that one of my referees made reference to it but I still got in with one lower mark out of 4 and I think it shows more tenacity than giving excuses.
Just my experience...

A

Not quite sure what you are trying to say the reason you got a lower mark was? Because your girlfriend had depression? I'm sure you devoted a lot of love and effort to her but I'm not sure that counts I'm afraid.

S

i wouldn't make reference to it either.