Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

I have no teaching experience but still wants that lecturer job

Y

Hi all,

I am near completion of my PhD and I am looking for jobs in academia. There are some lecturers' jobs which I am interested in. Yet, these jobs require experience in teaching which I don't have because my institute is more research-oriented than teaching based. Do you think I should still apply to these jobs considering that most of them are for top universities?
Thanks,
Y

J

You certainly have nothing to lose from applying- you never know, you might get the position! and how brill would that be? seriously though, while you may not have experience of teaching (e.g. lecturing etc) you may have transferable skills that will be just as useful and make you a really strong candidate e.g. teaching/demonstrating things to junior members of your lab, giving conference talks or lab meetings etc

Good luck
x

Y

Hi Ju-ju,

Thank you for your advice. It remains to be seen whether this still applies in the current economic context even though your points on transferable skills and conference experience are indeed very relevant for demonstrating teaching ability/experience.
Thanks,
Y

P

Hi Yoplew - sorry to be the bearer of bad news but there will be so many people out there who do have teaching experience who you will be competing against.
I've always been told that obviously you need the PhD but unless you have publications and teaching experience you won't even get on the short list. Is there some teaching (at your university or any others within travelling distance) that you could maybe do next semester. It might be worth getting in touch with the relevant departments. Then you can at least put in your job applications that you are teaching.
Have a look at this website http://www.jobs.ac.uk/careers/articles/