Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Is Ph.D possible?

D

Hello All,
I'm struggling with a decision. I'm an Undergrad about to finish my degree in Computer Science as an Adult (age 30). Where I live one can start the Ph.D. straight from the Undergrad in Comp. Sci. and I've been planning on doing this since before I started my undergrad.

I'm married with two children (both under the age of 5), and I have a full time Job that I can't leave (I'm the breadwinner for the family). Is it even possible for someone in my situation to obtain a Ph.D. in Comp Sci? Do you know of any people in their Ph.D. programs who also maintain full time jobs and have a family?

Thank you all
D

C

not sure what country you are in, however I've just passed my viva (with minor corrections) for a PhD in comp sci. as a mother with children. I did however take the PhD on full time. I found that with the research council funding I received from EPSRC (which isn't taxable at all) combined with the fact I no longer had to pay council tax, student loans company, etc., meant that financially I wasn't that worse off than working in full time employment. I did have to take a bit of a drop, but it wasn't a great deal, and I found the flexibility in working hours in research far far far more beneficial than any I'd ever experienced anywhere else. It enabled me to make cost savings where I wouldn't have normally been able to (cutting down on travel costs, working from home, etc.) and simple things like time saving shopping out of Tesco "rush hour" meant I had more time to cook and therefore the meals became cheaper.

Anyway, might be worth some consideration.

D

Thank you for your quick reply!

I am in the US, and I work as a Software Engineer for NASA, so I am really reluctant to leave here, since I'd anticipating that the income drop would be rather significant.