Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Jobs after the PhD - research assistant?

J

Hi everyone.
Typically, research assistants are graduates who may well go on to do a PhD. I have undergraduate, masters and PhD degrees. I've seen a job as a research assistant in my field and am thinking of applying to it. Does anyone think it's weird for someone like me to apply for a research assistant job aimed at people without PhDs?

Having been a PhD student I obviously have quite a bit of research experience. Quite unusually, though, I lack experience with some of the most commonly used research methods in my field. Even though I have a PhD, I don't meet the requirements for many research associate/post doc positions in my field because of my blatant lack of experience with such methods. I've been on training courses for these methods at other universities, but never got to actually implement them in my research because the equipment and expertise simply weren't available at my university.

So maybe a research assistant job is the way to go to get experience with the important skills I didn't get to use as a PhD student? Then maybe eventually I could move on to a post doc? What does anyone else think?

P

Hi Journey,

I'm in my last two months of a PhD and have taken on a new job as a research officer (akin to an RA). I've seen numerous RA/RO jobs actually requiring a Phd (mine didn't though).
I personally didn't have a problem taking the job, as the experience and security was better than no job at all! So I think it's a great way to hone and develop your research skills post PhD. While perhaps not idea, it certainly won't be a waste of time (or weird!)

Good luck

:-)

P

======= Date Modified 30 Nov 2012 10:41:40 =======
Depends on the university or advertising organisation

For part of my final extension year of my PhD, I worked as a Research Assistant/Associate at a top 5 uni.