Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Life after phd

T

Hey everyone, i'm newbie to the forum and was just wanted to ask a question about life after my phd. I'm in my second year of a phd in biochemistry and am already getting restless. I'm starting to wonder whether i really do want to work in science and was thinking that it might be better to go into something where i can earn more money and earn it quicker. My question is what sort of prospects do science phd students realistically have to get a job in industry/academia. It seems to me that in academia there aren't enough good jobs for qualified people, which seems a waste when i could go into something unrelated to science and be earning far more money. Industry seems like a good place to go, but my supervisor is totally against that and says it's not worth it and i should probably stay in academia. I was thinking of going into pharmacuitcal sales as an old phd student of my supervisor went into that and seems to be doing really well for himself. But anyway, what do you lot think???? Thanks for reading :)

B

The short answer- Its not good. I am still temping and doing bits of teaching here and there, and my standard of living has dropped since I was a PhD student (which wasnt exactly opulent to begin with).

I recommend you make as many contacts in industry while you are in uni because its a lot harder once you are out on the other side

R

I'm in a different discipline, but I'm afraid academia seems to be characterised by short term contracts, periods of unemployment and low wages. If I had my time again I would have qualified in a different way. However we are all different if you love research - stay where you are.

T