Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

paper problems!

P

======= Date Modified 08 27 2009 07:27:50 =======

I'm not a PhD student..yet. but i write in this forum since i figured here is where i could get the most help when it comes to writing up research. so here goes...

Hello.
I should have written to you earlier i just realized. It's regarding work on a research paper...based on the study i did for my masters dissertation. I've been working on the paper for 2 months now. I stay at home (but I have the pasrt about 'workign at hoem' figured out, so that's not the problem).
I find myself suddenly so muddled with my paper..with parts written, parts where i need to do more stats, parts i need more referencing, parts where i find arguments against my own work. and i just wish i had a more systematic way of working with it. i just get lost in the stats i have to learn, the parts i have to write, the different colored fonts and comments in the paper, all my notebooks and i just keep making lists of what all i have to do, all that i have to read. I am also trying to learn R on my own on the side. and whenever i have to send an update of the paper to my guide i realize i haven't written much, maybe because i was reading and not writing. and in the end i feel that all the reading didn't help me do any more work actually...although i know it was useful. But the point is..after all the reading, making lists, thinking, learning R, rearranging the plan of my paper, the flow of my text..i haven't added much to the body of my paper!
And it's like everything comes with a rush to my head..all these things i have to do or new ideas i could put down in the discussion and I feel all muddled up because of too many things to do. and then everything goes all out together! I hope I make sense..i do to myself :/
You who've worked on a paper(s) or even thesis..do you have anything to say to me?

P