Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

PhD life and dating after a long relationship

T

in order to get my PhD i had to move to a different country. Unfortunately, my girlfriend did not want to leave my native country and stayed at home. We were in a relationship for 4 years, during my bachelor and master studies. After 3 months in PhD, she realized that she can't have a long term relationship, and broke up with me.

Now (i am 7 months in my phd) she has a boyfriend she is happy with, and i feel lonely. The phd is taking all my energy and weekends.
I am in a different country with different values, and it is hard to find a girl that share similar values and expectations in life. I start thinking that i did the wrong decision. I traded career for love, and I am not sure i will get any now. I am 25.

Can you please share an advice based on similar experience?

P

I just wanted to say that I know completely relate to what your saying. I'm in my second year of my PhD, and in the first year of my PhD, my boyfriend of 5 years (although we've known each other for a total of 8 years) decided to end our relationship because he did not want to be in a relationship. I was completely devastated, shattered and just felt horrible for months and months; I even broke down in front of my supervisor and hasn't looked at me the same way since! I wasn't able to work or function at all, and my worked suffered badly-and I attribute it to the primary reason as to why I failed my upgrade. I hated myself for making the decision to move (although its only 50 miles away-I come home every weekend) as my relationship meant the world to me. We spoke about getting married, babies etc and I was very close to his family-they were like my second family and were exteremely supportive and loving (complete contrast to my own family).

P