Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

PhD without supervisor

A

Hi everyone,
I am a third-year PhD student. I have published two papers and I have finished writing my thesis. But something got wrong in my relationship with my supervisor. I am working on astrophysics and my supervisor's field of research is condensed matter physics. When I begun research I made it clear to him that I needed a supervisor not to help me in my research but only to take care of the administration papers. He recently claims however that it is impossible for a PhD student to defend his thesis if his published papers were authored solely by the student and the supervisor does not appear as a co-author. Please tell me if this is true.
Please tell me also if there exists in the world a country where a hard working student can get a PhD by working on his own, publishing and writing his dissertation, without any supervisor so that I can go there to finish my PhD. Thank you very much in advance.

W

This doesn't really pass the "sniff test" (or B.S. test if you prefer) for me. Check the regulations at your school. I know that at mine, I can submit my thesis without my supervisor's approval. It is not advised, but it is possible. They should have a copy online and also with the administration team.

at my uni you can submit without the supervisor, although its not advisable as wanderingsage says.