Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

PhDs and kids!

T

Hello everyone. I have only just started studying but already I am having a few problems. The main issue is my 3 year old. Obviously he's not a problem as such - he's adorable but I do find that I am doing less work than my fellow students. For example, this evening I should be reading up on research methodologies but ended up having to read Thomas the Tank Engine. How does everyone else manage juggling studies and children? And the million dollar question: how much work do you think you actually need to do per week to get ahead? Thanks for any advice.

D

I think a lot depends on the age of your kid(s), if you have a mate and if you work in addition, plus how supportive your department is. I got my Masters with my first kid aged 1-3, and I'm working the last few years on my doctorate with my 2 kids now ages 11 and 8; I work fulltime too. My husband has been incredibly supportive and stepped up, which is why I've been able to do this. Its meant missing plenty of weekend activities and evenings the kids know past a certain time its my homework time. At age 3 its hard, but yours will grow up learning this and its a wonderful gift to give them; my kids now want to shoot for their doctorate (hopefully when they are younger than me)Its a balancing act, and realize sometimes you'll excel as parent, sometimes as worker, sometimes as student, or mate, rarely as all 4 at the same time; just don't be too hard on yourself, and seek out other student parents who you may be able to network with.

D