Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

pursuing phd in germany..need urgent advise

A

hi....im azura from Malaysia, im currently a master by research student and will complete my thesis soon. i plan to further my phd in Germany but there are few matters that bother me! does it take up to 4 to 5 years to complete a phd in Germany? coz i plan to do my phd in 3 years time (since the scholarship i have only provide me for only 3 years....if not i have to find other countries). Even i already have a master......do i need to do another master in Germany before qualify to do a phd? i really need an opinion or advise here.

S

hi, I also almost chose a phd in germany but changed my mind. It depends on what kind of phd do want to do. Do you already have funding from your country for another 3 years? then you are very lucky. I guess you just need to apply to the universities in germany to find out how long it will take (approximately). Get in touch with your potential supervisors (in germany). Some universities run international phds, these are in english so you probably won't have any problems with language, but others need you to have a decent command of Deutsch. So the whole phd process (plus language etc) may exceed 3 years! I have friends who do their phds in japan for a minimum of 4 years. They struggle with language as well.

To qualify, you may not necessarily need another master. They always publish their requirements for applicants, check these out.

I'm sure you already know this website, you may get loads of information here. www.daad.de
goodluck

A

Thanks Satchi, for ur advise. Last time im also interested of pursuing my phd in japan but change my mind after several cause. hemmm...i really have to think twice then..... thanks anyway

M