Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Self-funded Part-time Success Stories

S

I am new to the forum and just wondered if anyone could share any success stories about part-time students who went on to academic careers? Every part-time student I have encountered has quit! I therefore don’t know of anyone else who had managed to either do a post-doc or secure a lectureship. I should just add although I would have loved to do my PhD full-time (part-time mode is a nightmare- no social life, isolated from other students through working long hours for my job, bags the size of suitcases under your eyes!) and applied for funding, I could never have afforded to give up my full-time job because of personal commitments.

M

Good morning! It's true that the part-time route is a very different animal to a full-time one, and it's a great shame that you know only of those who quit. I completed my PhD in 6 years while working as a full-time teacher in a further education college. A few months before submission I successfully applied for a research post within the NHS & then passed the PhD in May. I've changed the sign on my door to 'Dr. Mog'! I now have the freedom to do independent research within my new role, so though my job isn't in academia per se it does enable me to undertake academic research. I consider myself a very lucky & happy Mog!
I wish you equal success in your venture, it is worth it in the end!
Mog :)

What a nice story Mog. Thanks for sharing it :)

Have to agree with both of you on two counts esp.

1 It is certainly true that a part-time PhD is a completely different animal to a full-time one-very different animal indeed but no less worthwhile.

2 For the part-time phder with a full time job social life and bags under one's eyes seem to form a balancing partnership or see saw relationship-as the one rises so the other falls and vice versa!

S