Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Starting to get desperate

M

Hi to everyone. I really need some help and advice as I am starting to get really depressed. I completed my PhD in Biology back in May and I am still unemployed. Even though I didnt really start looking for a job until end August due to health issues. I am invited to interviews and I had 6 until now the last 3 in the last month I got rejected from all of them. I was wondering wether I am doing something wrong in the interviews. The feedback that I had is I was impressive in terms of both my CV and my interview performance (including presentations) but they went with someone senior. I am freaking out. I can understand that a senior post doctoral has muvh more experience but why did they invite me for an interview and how am i going to get that experience. Additionally, I have two papers (second author) and I am preparing one as a firts author even though I just managed to write half of it due to my illness. I have another interview tmr but I am so dissapointed and dont belive that I will ever get a postdoc position as i dont know what else to do. Is it normal to look for a job for this long (7 months)? Is there anything that you will advice me for the interview? Thanks in advance.

S

Judging from these boards 7 months of looking is not a surprisingly long time, so don't get too down beat. People often struggle to find work after a PhD and if you haven't been well then this will have compounded the problem. Keep applying, remember you only need one yes!

As for interview tips, it sounds like you're already doing pretty well in the interviews - you've just been unlucky that someone they deem more experienced has been available.