Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Struggling to write up

G

Hi there,
I'm in my third year of PhD study and attempting to write up. My funding comes to an end in September and although I technically have a year after that to submit I had always promised myself I'd be done as close to the end of funding as possible. For some reason, however, despite how much I want this damn process to be over I can't seem to get motivated to get words on paper. I do anything and everything other than what I actually have to do. Even when I make myself get on the computer at a decent time I find myself faffing with checking emails, catching up with friends, organising things to look forward to after the PhD but not actually doing the PhD. I know it sounds ludicrous and I keep telling myself to just get on with the damn thing but for some reason I continue to procrastinate. Throughout my undergrad and MA studies I was a full on perfectionist, spending every waking hour on assignments to ensure the best grade possible but now I seem to have lost all care for my studies. I keep thinking, oh - I'll do it when I have to and making excuses for my lack of work - 'you mustn't be in the right frame of mind to write' etc etc. But now I'm really starting to worry myself. While my motivation and interest in the thesis has pretty much gone out of the window I am still determined to finish it and would never walk away from it when I have come this far. However, I have no tricks up my sleeve to pull my socks up anymore and wondered if anyone else had experienced a similar thing? Any advice or kicks up the backside would be most appreciated. I know I have to do something to fix this situation but I really am at a loss as to what!
:-(

A

======= Date Modified 18 May 2011 11:52:47 =======
Hi Grit