Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Stuck and depressed

R

Hello all the genius people

I am from a Biomedical Engineering background, did my B.Eng in my country followed by MSc in the same from UK. Now I am in my second year of PhD and I think I am struggling a lot. First of all I don't have full funding. I get paid my international tuition fees but I have to work part time on weekends for my living. I started my PhD in the field of robotic surgery and Laser scanning. I wasn't an expert in lasers but over a time and after reading a lot I am a bit confident about it. Now I am stuck in the Health and Safety rules and cannot use my Laser. Its been 5 months I havent used my instrument and the safety officers always bring some issues regarding this. I do have communication with my supervisor but he seems to be not very much bothered about the concerns I have as he is always extremely busy. So whatever little progress I have done till date its all done by me.

Also the bigger picture of the project always looks faint to me. I know in the later stages what I have to do, but I don't know how. I somehow cleared my first year annual review but I am scared about this years annual assessment as I haven't done much in this year as I have no data to show up. I was a good student in my undergrad and in my Masters and cleared both with distinction including my dissertation. Also Lasers, robotics wasnt my area but somehow I have been able to grasp a little knowledge using the literature. But very often during meetings I feel like a fool and not clever enough to pursue a PhD. I am not worried about working hard nor I am stupid. But since last year i feel I am a stupid and how-much ever I try to cheer up myself, I fail. I cant even give up my project due to high expectations I have always created in the minds of my parents and friends.

I am depressed and don't know what to do. Please help me out.

Thanks

W

======= Date Modified 31 May 2012 09:59:03 =======