Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Time to move out...

R

Evening all.. Hope everyone's looking towards the Christmas season. Just wondered what everyone's living situation is and how they cope with those around them at home? It's looking very much like I'm going to be moving out from my parents home... A bad thing in one sense. Even though I'm 25 I'm single and I moved back in to save some money as well as helping them out financially. One of my parents runs their own business which has been hit with the economic downturn and figured they could do with some money...

Problem is neither of my parents seem to understand what I do for a living (I'm actually lucky enough to be in reciept of a scholarship so I very much view it as my full time job!). Furthermore, because I study it also allows me to fit some part time teaching hours in throughout the year and 8 weeks full time work over the summer - things I couldn't do if I worked elsewhere. I think the feeling often is that my studying can just be 'fitted in around' everything else I do during the week and it's starting to really get me down... No support at home and such like.

Wondered if anyone else is in a similar situation, either with kids, siblings, partners or parents and how you cope?!?

C

I know what you mean. I live with my partner who is studying for a completely different qualification. He has deadlines to meet which are set by the department, and so assumes that his deadlines are more important than mine just because mine are personal daily or weekly deadlines/targets.
I think you have to be really vocal with them, and drill it into their heads that your work is just as important. Maybe you should just tell them that a condition of the scholarship is that you are expected to treat your studying as a full time job.

P

Hi Rebel,