Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

To PhD or not to PhD ?

E

Hi everyone, I'm currently studying my Msc Economics with Management and have seriously been considering doing a PhD in September 2008. Not for job propsects as such, but for myself. The trouble is I am worried about the effect a PhD will have on my job prospects (ironically). I don't want to become a teacher or an academic - hopefully I want to become an analyst (but not 100% sure)... All I know is that teaching/academia is not something I want to do for the rest of my life.
My family keep saying 'Just get the masters out of the way and then think about it', but I can't stop wondering what to do!? I know there is the Chartered Financial Analyst qualification which is probably more relevant to someone aspiring for an analyst-type role, but I feel as though at 23 yrs old I should just go4 the PhD and research what I want to research. Oh I don't know if I'm even making any sense! Does/Did anyone go through this? I'm afraid I'll end up over-qualified and without a job.

B

Listen to your family ... complete your MSc first and then think about what you would like to do next (you wouldn't be planning on doing a PhD until 2008 so you have time to mull over this).

If the PhD isn't appropriate to your future career development, then you should give it serious consideration about whether it is worth doing (i.e. for the meantime would it be more beneficial for you to do a professional course and secure a job that you want to do - then, in future years, you could do a PhD (part-time) for personal 'pleasure'). Yes, a PhD is primarily for careers in academia but some industries also look for people who have these. Personally, I would go with your 'gut instinct' - complete the Masters, do a professional course, get a job, then maybe do a PhD part-time in future years (based on the fact that you definitely do not want a career in academia).

Keep us updated.

H