Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

What should I do? (PhD advice)

D

I graduated with an undergrad degree in 2007 in Communication and Poli Sci. Last year I got a full-time job in a computer position at a school district, got married and started grad school in communication on the basis of me wanting to eventually get a PhD and become a professor. I love the media and effects of the media on people, vice versa, so I love talking about and learning about new media and communication and new technology and communication.

Life happens, of course, and we are now expecting a child here in a few weeks. I'm starting my second year of the Master's program and am debating what to do when I'm done with this year. My wife works full-time as an accountant.

I basically have two options:

1. Keep the job I have, stay in the same city, do not go for the PhD. Great benefits, decent pay (school district remember), close to home, be comfortable. Go for this career in Technology Education.

2. Go for the PhD, quit my job, wife quits her job (because we have to move), stay in school for 4-6 years and then start career in professional research and teaching at the college level.

It seems apparent to me that the PhD option number 2 isn't the greatest for the short term, especially in this economy. In the long term, I think I could be happy with a career in Technology Education, but I might always think that I didn't go for the PhD and maybe do better for myself. Seems like option 1 would be the easy route and I wouldn't be as challenged.

I'm just looking for advice on your end. If you were in my situation, what would you do, etc. Just general advice.

Thanks.

L

Hi there,

I'd be very wary of making this decision just before a major life change (i.e. the birth of your first child). In your shoes I'd give myself a couple of years to adjust to new circumstances before deciding whether to go for the PhD option. What are your wife's thoughts about it?