Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Working in between BSc/MSc and PhD

I

Ok guys, I know there's another topic about taking a year out before doing a PhD, but I thought here I could be more focussed on this particular problem. I finished my MSc in Oct, and haven't had a job since. I'm applying for PhDs, so I'm not even guaranteed one of those come sept/oct (far from it!).

I'm just wondering what kind of work you guys did (if you did) in the interim between a previous course and a PhD. I've applied for a few things in my field (marine biology/fisheries), but haven't really had any success whatsoever. I don't even know where to look for jobs - jobs.co.uk, reed etc never have anything that seems suitable. I'm feeling that without getting experience in my field, I'm just going to be working -against- a goal of a PhD...

C

Hmmm, well I worked for a telephone company that had contracts with a number of big and prestigious uni institutions....I once knew loads about all the networks and technical faults! Argh!
I essentially disconnected non paying students, transferred lines/colleges and offered technical support over the phone.

Then I worked for a major insurer - ammending, cancelling and setting up household insurance. Zzzzzzz.

So yeah not the career path my MA prepared me for...but a financial neccesity. At least I am in my PhD now, and a job I like!

T