Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Worried about not doing enough

A

I'm VERY VERY worried about not doing enough. I'm in my first year, only really started 5 months ago, and I haven't done any real writing yet. I'm not sure I've even written enough. I actually feel like I'm missing so much knowledge.

Is this normal???

When should I be writing? What is the normal timescale?

R

I hope this makes you feel better because I hate to admit it... but I don't really have any 'real' writing done either and I'm at the start of my 3rd year I'm kinda hoping to cram it all in this year... but I wouldn't advise it!!!

I know everybody says this (and I still didn't do it) but you really should start writing ASAP! Even if just when you read an article try to write 1-2 paragraphs about it, or when you do something (i.e. make a decision about an approach you will use) write up half a page on what you did/why etc.

It will all add up in no time... I wish I had done it that way

L

Hi guys, listen try not to worry about the writing thing one of the best tips I ever got was try to write 1000 words a day it adds up very quickly... get yourself into a habit of doing a little bit a day and it will start to feel better....

X

Ohh god, the dreaded writing issue. Tell me about it! My supervisor is asking me to write a piece after each supervision, but to be honest, the crap I'm producing feels like a big fat waste of time. I don't feel ready to write anything yet--understand exactly where you're coming from!

S

I don't know anyone who wrote anything substantial in their first year - I didn't start writing until a few months before my second year started (and my supervisor has just ripped that apart so a load of good it did me!!!) I regret not starting sooner, but you still have more than enough time to achieve something in your first year.

F

Eish, thank goodness I am not alone! Could have written the original post myself!