Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Writing up...

C

I am just beginning to write up my PhD (Humanities based). I was wondering if anyone had any advice before I get going with it all? I am already procrastinating (as you can see) and finding it hard to get going!

Also how long people generally took to write up their results chapters and how many drafts of analysis chapters did you generally do?

Thanks all! :)

D

The biggest thing I found to help me was to draft out and outline of the chapter headings ie like a contents page.  Once each chapter title was done, I progressed to subheadings and then put notes in for each area of what to include. I got my rough outline of the thesis structure agreed by my supervisor aswell. This gave me a little control of what needed to be written and roughly where it was going to fit in with the larger picture of the overall thesis.  It was then a case of writing the smaller subsections within a chapter which ultimately gave me a draft chapter for my thesis. Once all the chapters are written you will have a draft thesis.  The order of which chapter to write first is up to you, although I did write mine in chronological order. You could pick the one that interests you the most to start with.  The outline of the thesis structure will also help you to define your lit review section more.