Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Back from the second PhD interview

D

This time I wasn't as nervous as before even though some questions, again, were a bit difficult. I am not so sure if I could give them 'correct' answers. At the end of the interview, one interviewer asked me if I would accept the Mphil offer in case the university could not offer me a PhD place.

I know that I have little experience in and knowledge about doing research. But I have got a MA degree with research components in it (I did my MA thesis and took some research-related courses). If they did offer me a Mphil place rather than a PhD one, Should I accept it? I am talking about full time Mphil with a monthly stipend provided.

What do you guys think? I would like to get your advice? Thx

C

I personally would plough on with more PhD applications rather than accept an MPhil offer, but others may be able to shed more light on the value of doing an MPhil! I've heard of people being asked to register first for an MPhil and then at some point convert it to PhD as long as they're making enough progress, but I've never heard of an MPhil being offered as an alternative at interview stage before. Do you think they are suggesting that you take a longer route to getting a PhD, by doing the MPhil to get more research skills first?
Anyway, good luck and I hope you get offered the PhD.

S

hi dotdottung
I'm sure you did very well in the interview!

did you ask them if the MPhil could be "extended/expanded" into a phd? If it comes with a monthly stipend, it is a good opportunity and who knows--you might enjoy it and excel in it. On the other hand there is a time factor to consider, would you be prepared to spend this time doing another Masters instead of a phd?

love satchi

D

Hi Satchi,