Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Pre-requisites to get funding from Uni

M

Hi All - newbie here so please be gentle!

I've just been accepted by Manchester Uni for a PhD and whilst I'm chuffed to bits at the prospect of working with the best academic in my field of studies I am obviously concerned with the financial side of things, having missed the deadline for the major funding bodies.

I am applying for a studentship and although I have asked what criteria they were looking at to be awarded one I did receive a straight answer so wondered if anyone here was willing to share.

I hold an MA from my home country (France) for which I was awarded 17/20 (equivalent of a distinction here I think), a PGCE and have also got an MSc from Manchester (back in the days where it was still called Umist...)for which I had an overall grade of B-: I have no idea what this stands for (was told it was just a pass/fail system although I was seriously confused when one student in my year got a distinction). Can that hinder my chances? I don't if this is relevant at all, but I'm also a working mum (part-time supply teacher) in my mid-thirties

M

apologies for all the typos!

R

Hi mami06,

just wanted to say to you: Welcome to the forum

R

O, yes regarding your question:
I am afraid that I do not really know the answer, as I am not fully familiar with the British system either. Sorry

M

Thank you!

S

It depends on your field and which funding body you are applying to - and whether you are going via a quota or as an individual. So not enough information really. I don't understand your MSc grade either. Although many are pass/fail, funding bodies will ask for the actual mark. A lot also depends on your project as funding bodies have areas of particulat interest whcih may change from year to year (but are often listed on their websites).