Can I get a Lecturing Post without a PhD?

A

...and without a distinction at master's level? I've heard a lot of institutions will accept you for a PhD without a masters level distinction (which is great) but it's nearly impossible to get funding! I'm doing a masters at present and not likely to get a distinction or AHRC funding - would anyone like to take a guess at my chances of getting a lecturing post in Literature without a PhD? I'm recoiling from the idea of financial ruin caused by more self-funding...

V

Yes you can but below degree level.

A

Thanks very poor. I want to teach degree level tho so guess I'll just have to bankrupt myself. I hope you get richer as I get poorer x

A

I wouldn't really rate your chances very highly at all. I know people who have graduated with PhDs from my department and are having difficulties finding jobs. They have teaching experience, publications, and a four years of research behind them, and it's them you'd be competing against.

Sorry if this sounds rude, but think about it this way: how many of your lecturers don't have doctorates?

A

I didn't really expect an affirmative answer tbh - just wanted to ask. Actually a few of the proper Old Skool lecturers got jobs without PhDs, but I think the employment market was very different in those days.

J

Yes, depending on the area. Several Pharmacy Practice lecturers I know don't have PhDs (although they usually study for one whilst teaching, on a part-time basis).

R

your unfortunate to be in a field were it sounds very necessary to have a PhD to teach at third level and where funding for PhDs is likely to be a lot more sparse. i think this is true of most academic subjects. but for example, engineering is proabably one field where people can lecture with a masters+ ( lots of industrial experience ) ive come across such people but they would be rare enough. best of look with your studies!!

S

Hi Amy