Exit an MPhil gracefully!?

T

I've been studying towards an MPhil in English Literature for a few years now, and have encountered a number of problems with the university (big gaps in supervison). As things stand, I have good supervision, and have until the end of June 2011 to submit. I also have 30 ECTS from an exchange programme I did at the beginning of the MPhil.

However, after about 25,000 words so far, I have lost all motivation to finish the thesis, and I frankly hate looking at it now. I also no longer care about what i'm writing about. The finished article should be 50 - 60,000, and the thought of doing any more makes me ill.

I'm weighing up the idea that I could either submit a shorter thesis and try for research MA (combined with my ECTS), or settle for a PGDip and make it into an MA at a later time and at another uni?

I realise the best thing would be to just finish the damned thing, and I still have that option open of course. But I don't care about how it looks on a CV, nor do I intend to go for a career in academia (the whole process has put me off!). I really only pursued my MPhil subject out of my own interest and (then) passion for the subject, but I feel very tempted to leave in the best way possible to preserve my mental health, whilst still having something to show for it.

Any suggestions apart from the obvious?

Thanks

B

======= Date Modified 12 Dec 2010 18:33:15 =======

I'd recommend you try going for the MA. It justifies the time you spent doing it, doesn't look like a gap period on your CV and if you ever decide to go back to higher education one day (who know? You may do later in life) then you have your MA as a stepping stone for something else. Either way, especially that you say you cannot stomach writing another 40k words, then an MA is your best bet. I wouldn't recommend going for a PG Dip.