How to Get Distinction in English Lit MA

D

Hi Guys,

I'm about to start my MA in English Literature at a UK University (I'm a mature student, graduated 11 years with an undergraduate degree in Finance and Economics, which I did in the US so different education system). I really want to do PhD straight after my Master's and will need funding for that, which is extremely competitive in English Lit. So I need to get distinction.

Any tips from those of you who have received distinction in MA? Particularly in English Lit?

Thanks

T

I didn't get a distinction in my MSc (Biology) but I know I could have... it's no different than an undergrad degree - you just have to learn the material back to back and then throw in some 'original ideas' that weren't covered in the lectures. I got bored with revision by the time my MSc rolled around and I barely revised so I just got a merit.

In your research project or thesis you just have to follow the guidelines required to get a distinction.

C

I got a distinction in my MSc - not the same as English Lit, but in general I'd say don't skimp on anything, put the hours in and make sure you really have a knowledge of the material. When it comes to your research project, pay attention to anything your supervisor thinks should be improved on, since he or she is going to grade it. I'm a mature student too, and I think that helped as I certainly took it all more seriously than I did my undergraduate degree!

L

I did an MA in Medieval Studies, which isn't the same as English Lit although it did have a literature component. I didn't get a distinction but I was only 2 percentage points off (grrr!). Fortunately for me it didn't impact my getting a PhD scholarship, but it's certainly wise to aim for a distinction if you have hopes of doing a PhD - you are right that it is very competitive out there.