Jobseekers allowance

M

I'm currently enrolled on a full-time Masters course that's due to end in September, which is when I hand in my dissertation. I recently had to brave the hell that is my local job centre because my partner is applying for JSA and, because we live together, it had to be done in the form of a joint claim. I assumed that I'd receive a student exemption because, well, I am a full-time student, and that from then on the claim would be pretty much handled as if my partner were the only claimant.

Having provided the jobcentre with a council tax exemption form stating that my course was full-time until September, I received the reply that I wasn't actually eligible for student exemption. According to the person I spoke to, the decision-makers at the jobcentre had 'looked at the term dates on the internet', decided that I had provided them with inaccurate/misleading information and denied my exemption. I then gave them another (more recently dated) letter from my faculty specifically explaining that I am actually officially still a student, and confirming that my course ended in September. I've just heard back from the jobcentre that this second letter also failed to convince whatever shadowy panel they've got stashed in the attic.

I've now got to go in to register for jobseekers if my partner has any chance of getting his claim through. I have a lot of work to do to get my dissertation done and so I have absolutely no intention of getting a full-time job - I already have a part-time job but there's no way that both of us can survive on my wages alone - but I don't see what other evidence I can provide to the cretins at the jobcentre that will convince them that I'm a student.