Postgrad Solutions Ltd. - funding

N

I start my MSc this September, yesterday on my School's website I noticed an advert for Postgrad solutions and the £500 bursary (2x) that they are awarding for 2 students on any course at any British university. My plan was always to pay for my masters myself, then get a studentship/ESRC funding for my potential PhD but I thought I might as well go for this as I've got nothing to lose, and now I have a first class degree I feel a bit more confident about trying things like this.

My main questions are whether anyone knows about or has any experience of Postgrad Solutions Ltd, and what I could do to maximise my chances of getting funding. As there are only 2 bursaries being awarded I know my chances are very slim, as I can only use 200 words to support my application I need to come up with something quite special! I am in the social sciences as well, and studying at an ex-poly, though the state on the website that there is no institutional bias.

Any advice really appreciated, Natassia

H

Curious. I'd never ever heard of them. Looking at their website, it looks like a commerical enterprise as much as anything else. So I don't think that writing on your CV that you received funding from 'Postgrad Solutions Ltd' would have the same impact as 'Research Council Studentship'. But hey, cash is cash, and £500 off the cost of fees is not to be sniffed at.

Do read any terms and conditions very carefully though. I note that you have to join their website in order to apply, that their 'about us' section (http://www.postgradsolutions.com/corporate/sections/about/aboutus.jsp) talks more about marketing and consultancy than it does education and research, and that they describe the process as 'winning' a bursary. It's a very commercial sounding set up. But if your happy that applying doesn't bind you into some contract where they get the credit for your first 20 research publications, then go for it. :)

H