Thesis Supervisor absent for majority most of term

G

Hi im a student studying for a taught masters in sustainable energy engineering, ive just finished my undergrad. degree in chemical eng. last year it was probably the hardestwork ive ever done especially final year (at one piont i stayed up for three days straight doing project work in order to meet a deadline). I started this masters cause i wanted to diversify and because i am in receipt of a maintenance grant i didnt have to pay any fees, so i figured id do this as jobs weren't exactly plentiful and i didnt want to settle for one im not entirely happy with. Anyway, i was a assigned a thesis project in october entitled " performance assessment of the geothermal heating and cooling system in one of the universities most modern buildings". I immediately contected my supervisor via email to see how i could start the project and when he replied it was to give me a brief outline of the project and tell me that he was on sabatical until January. Anyway to get to the main point its mid February now and hes only just made himself available to meet, he said he had a family bereavement, i mean what can you say to that really. My thesis is farily non-existent (well thats not truth ive done a fair but of research but nothing concrete just methods of analysis) and i have to hand it up in mid April. So i feel like even if i finally figure out where im going with it now it will be too late. I know this is largely my fault but ive been depressed this year (and admittedly lazy having just finished one of the most work intensive engineering degrees on earth, im not exaggerating) and ive been lost and unaware of where to go with the thesis. I was emailing my supervisor but he told me in late october to leave him alone as he was on holidays. He gave me some people to contact who work in the building and they were initially quite helpful (e.g. gave me a tour and a rundown of the system) but when it came to actually really helping