worried sick

L

Hiya

This is my first post in this forum. I could really do with some advice. I am currently doing my masters research and only three months away from my submission deadline. I am still stuck with my simulation (software coding) and trying to figure out how to fix it. After that I need to start the real experiments and start writing the whole thesis. (which according to my seniors could take upto six months!). I am worried sick as my scholarship contract will also end in three month. It almost seems impossible to get everything done in 3 months. Plus I am a single parent and need to balance my time between research and my child. Any constructive advice is most welcome. Many thanks.

E

In my opinion, you could make it if you would do nothing else these 3 months apart from working for your thesis. Taking into consideration that you cannot do that, I would try to ask for an extension. To have any chance to be granted one you should explain clearly your reasons, and they should be quite serious.

S

hi Liah
welcome to the Forum. How long do you think it will take for the simulation to be solved?
Can you do it within one month? It seems to be key to getting the rest of the masters research done :-)

Sometimes it is better to just deal with the situation the way it is when it presents itself (no matter how worrying/annoying etc.!).

Ask yourself if you want to finish the masters research--if you want to continue.

In the worst case scenario, if you haven't finished--and the scholarship is up, you still have to survive--that is to find some way of getting paid income. That can also happen without a masters degree. If this happens, you need to let yourself off the hook and be open to new challenges--perhaps find some other work for the time being, or even ask family for help etc.

On the other hand, since it is a 3-month deadline from now--