Mres and PhD

C

Hey everyone,
I'm an italian student with a BSc in Chemistry. After some unsuccessful PhD applications (always: you are a good candidate, but bla bla bla, don't give up), I realized without a master I won't go anywhere further.

The problem is I don't want to get a Master here in Italy. Good unis ok, but it'd be two more years of only lectures, some labs and lot of books. I would prefer a more research degree, of course I'm willed to attend lectures and study, but I don't want it to be all about it. Here we don't have such Mres, that's why I'm deeply interested in it: 1 year, research activities and some lectures. It'd be awesome.

The only concern I have: A MRes will be enough to get a funded PhD position?

T

An MRes is a masters degree, so yes it's enough to get a funded PhD. Actually, MRes is often viewed as better than a MSc because you are doing research the whole time and have to write a thesis, whereas for an MSc your research project is generally only 4 months long.

But, many students get on to PhD programs without an MSc/MRes, so this may not really be your issue. How many PhDs have you applied for? How many interviews have you had? Where are you applying?

T

The MRes is specifically tuned to prepare you for a PhD (or other research based career). Make sure you study the course spec, as my MRes had A LOT of lectures (well, they were called seminars but were pretty much lectures in smaller groups) alongside carrying out the research project.

C

I applied for about 10 funded positions.0 interview, only encouraging messages and positive feedbacks.

I don't know what's wrong: my applications is good, my CV is good (I will graduate with 104/110, which is an upper second class), worked on my thesis for a year (doing research ALMOST by myself), good reference letters. But I'm not enough.

I have applied eveywhere: leeds, manchester, southampton, east anglia and Nottingham. Same results: unsuccessful.