Anyone start their PhD 'straight from undergrad'?

P

I completed my UG degree *only* a few months before starting my PhD (in fact graduated in the same week as my interview).

Despite having been asked a lot of times, I can't say 'what it was like' doing this rather than doing a Masters/working/etc in between...The thing is that I've experienced a couple of people (one in particular) who see it as grounds for really condescending comments, and I wondered if anyone else had had something similar?

In my view, why on earth would someone who'd worked in an unrelated-to-research job for 8 years before doing an MRes and then beginning a PhD feel the need to act superior (in a research context) to someone who had begun their PhD in an unrelated topic in just the same month..? In terms of an academic/research career, aren't we both relatively rookies?

What a whinge... Lenna x

P

Yep I did. Same thing. The institute I am doing my PhD now had al ready offered me a mphil but after reading my BA thesis they offered me a PhD straight away. But, I have to say, I al ready had 10 years of work experience before enrolling into a UG course.

I didn't face condescending comments though. I do think it's quite hard, when not trained in a MA degree. Feels like playing for 2nd league shite team and then immediately have to perform in a Champions League match. Pressures me a bit.

Don't take shit from them, they might be just jealous for your achievement. Just must have written an outstanding thesis and had great results. It's jealousy.... You've done very well for yourself.

B

I didn't think it was possible to go straight into a PhD from an undergraduate degree, unless you had done an additional honours year and written a thesis.

M

At my university, there a handful of people who went straight to funded PhDs from undergraduate.

In all cases, they had received very high First Class degrees (75-80 average marks), and got in on the strength of their research proposals.