Do you use the Dr title?

W

I finished my PhD five years ago, but I remained in academia and always used the Dr. title before my name in my email signature and on any business related communications. I never changed my bankcard, passport or driving license and only used it at work…. In work - I never expected anyone to actually call me Dr, it’s more for credibility in comms etc…. Anyway, in the last six months I have moved to an industry based job, in a different field of research, but I continue to use the word Dr in my email signature I have noticed that other people with PhDs in this company have put (PhD) at the end of there name instead….

My question is - is using a Dr title not the done thing outside of academia? I never highlight it and I’m not abnoxious about it (I’m a mum of 2 working part time !)… someone (no academic qualifications) past a passive aggressive comment in a team meeting today about people using Dr titles - it was not directly directed at me, but it felt as though it was as she has the same job title as me…. And it’s made me feel rubbish as though I’m doing something really wrong. Should I be using PhD after my name instead?

What do others do? Advice and other experiences of using a Dr title or not is appreciated?

D

I work in academia and I use it on presentations, e-mail signature, job applications, etc. - i.e. strictly professional and formal situations. Personally I'd never think to use it outside of academia, unless it was directly relevant. For instance, we had teachers at school who'd go by Dr XYZ instead of Mr XYZ because they had a PhD in the subject they taught.