Droping out of PhD - opinions anyone?

G

======= Date Modified 02 06 2009 19:06:07 =======
Hi all, this is my first post here in the forum so I am hoping to get lots of replies : )
Ok, so I've been a PhD student for a year and a bit now but I have had enough and I am ready to throw in the towel!
So a bit on my history:
I am a biologist by trade but I accepted a PhD in chemistry my project has nothing to do with chemistry but, there we go! So I came in and, on my first day of work I was told that I needed to do assessed modules so I was forced (still am, actually) to do all these pointless modules. After that I found out that the lab I was supposed to work was not set up and no post doc was assigned to this project even though everyone else in my groups is from chemistry! So I left it a couple of months, hopping the supervisor would take charge. No such luck though. I had to set up the lab myself, this included buying everything from furniture to consumables, etc. So I finally started doing some work in December but everything is going really slowly because I am alone and I have 3 months experience in the lab (in a different field from the one I am now). In the meantime whenever I need help or direction all I get is oh I don't know.
Now my dilemma is, I really like my project and I think it could "take me places" but I don't think I am able to finish a PhD in these conditions. I mean I am a year into this and I have nothing, no results, no publications....
What does everyone think?

S