Help: How to apply for a PhD?

F

Hi, I hope some gentle souls out there can take a few minutes to help me. In short, I am thinking about a PhD but I know nothing on how to go about it. I am a professional journalist. I have been worked in Southeast Asia for years. I am planning to eventually make the jump to academia and I believe a PhD is the best way to go about it. But I have been outside university for years and never really looked at PhD. For a start, I am not sure how you propose a PhD. Do you submit an idea to a University? If so, how do you choose the University? How long should the proposal letter be? Can I submit to more than one universities... and so on. The topic I have in mind is linked to politics and radical Islam in Southeast Asia. Thanks for your time.

C

Well I don't know how receptive people may be knowing your lack of Academic experience, have you done any degrees of any sort?

I would imagine your best bet is to seek out possible supervisors from a University which lie within your area of interest and expertise, (politics and radical islam in southeast Asia). Because I would imagine your first major hurdle would be to convice a suitable supervisor that you are capable of completing a PhD.

Can you fund the PhD personally or are you seeking funding?

All this will depend on how you approach a supervisor or topic. Funded places will be advertised generally, with instructions on how to apply, generally a CV and a cover letter to begin with, + some references. It will probably all depend on a good cover letter to open the chance for an interview I would feel, but funded places are hard to get and even moreso if you don't have the qualifications.