How can I protect my idea?

T

Hi, everyone. I am currently a student, and I am set to work with a professor on my independent research project shortly. The professor wants a research proposal, budget, etc. before I begin working. However, I have read many horror stories online of professors stealing the ideas inside the proposals that their students send them and doing the projects themselves. Is there any way I can prevent this from happening? Can I put some sort of copyright on my research proposal to mark the new ideas inside said proposal as my intellectual property?

Thanks.

T

bump

Hi team, hmmmm. This actually happened to me when I was newbie at research. It wasn't a supervisor who took my idea, but someone I'd worked with who offered to advise me on a funding application. He's taken my original idea in quite a different diection to the path I eventually took, although our basic starting points are the same.

It's actually turned put quite well for me because his research is a good reason for me not to take a direction that seems the obvious route to outsiders but which is actually not very fruitful. He has made my own justifications much easier, especially when dealing with stuck-in-the mud types.

I also had great concern over another academic, in my home department, stealing one of my major discoveries. I have pressed to get this material published ahead of my original plans for this reason. It is now under review with a journal and that fact is well known in the department. My supervisor is the head of dept. and is very much in my corner as his apprentice, so I feel ok about this now.

I've managed these situations in an unofficial, non-confrontational way. It seems to me that official action is a political mine-feild and potentially destructive to ones career. I would be very interested to read alternative views on this subject, because, obviously, I don't know everything... But I hope I've helped in some way.

T